2011 © Hector MacMillan | Terms & Conditions

Hector MacMillan Technician     Playwright     Luthier Honorary President: Scottish Society of Playwrights

Honorary Fellow: Association For Scottish Literary Studies

“If we investigate only by physical and chemical means, we can only get physical and chemical answers.”

Sir Alister Hardy, FRS

Biog 1967 Playwright & Writer

“When we talk of the revival of Scottish Theatre, the name of Hector MacMillan must be at the front of our minds. His seminal work in the 1970’s included such plays as The Rising or The Royal Visit, which re-opened our minds to our own history, and the satirical and still apt dramatic exploration of sectarianism, The Sash. His translations of Molière too attract well-deserved praise. In fact, Hector has been a key figure in Scottish theatre for over forty years.”

“.... Hector is now, following the great figures of Robert McLellan and Ena Lamont Stewart, appointed by his peers as the Scottish Society of Playwrights’ Honorary lifetime President.”

Professor Ian Brown. ASLS


In addition to a large number of drama scripts [1967-1987] for educational Film, Television and Radio, work completed includes:-

1966 To Stand Alone. [TV]

1968 Land Without Children. [TV]

1970 The Rising. [Radio]

1971 The Resurrection Of Matthew Clydesdale. [Stage]

1971 The Ecumenical Corpse. [Radio]

1972 Royal Visit. [Radio]

1972 Solidarity. [TV]

1972 Ayrshire Lang Syne. [Film]

1973 The Ballad of Harvey's Dyke. [Radio]

1973 Krassivy, Krassivy. [Radio]

1973 The Rising. [Stage]

1973 The Sash. [Stage]

1974 Royal Visit. [Stage]

1976 The Gay Gorbals. [Stage]

1977 [wkg title] Blithe Spirit. [Film]

1977 Oh What A Lovely Peace! [Stage]

1980 Clann A Cheo [Stage]

1981 Capital Offence [Stage]

1981 Eine Kleine NachtmŸtze [Stage]

1982 Highest In The Forest. [Radio]

1982 Out In The Open. [TV]

1983 The Personal Touch.[TV]

1985 The Misanthrope [Radio]

1986 Jeppe o the Hill [Radio]

1987 The Hypochondriak [Stage]

1988 The Funeral [Stage]

1989 Tigh na Triubhais [Stage]

1989 Noblesse Obleege [Stage]

1990 Bridging The Gap [Stage]

1991 Figaro The Barber! [Stage]

1994 Whisky Galore [Radio]

1997 A Greater Tomorrow [Stage]

2004 Handful of Rogues [Book]

2009 The Unco Guid [Stage]

2009 Del Gesu's Viola [Stage or Radio]